About Arts Wayland

Arts Wayland Foundation, Inc. is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. ID# 04-2720386. All contributions are tax deductible. 

 Small Works Show

Small Works Show

Our mission is to promote creative expression; inspire, motivate and support artists of all mediums to enrich our community.


Nancy Boyle, President and Treasurer
Pete Curran, Director
Aurora Grabill, Secretary
Sarah Kahn, Director
Lois Novotny, Director and Exhibits chair
Judith Scott, Director and Exhibits co-chair
Joanne Tarlin, Director and Studio coordinator

The board of directors of Arts Wayland include members who support the arts and are professionals in the community. Including, a patent and copyright attorney, Wayland middle school art teacher, museum docent and art history lecturer, recent graduate of Framingham State college, pet sitter and watercolorist, full-time artist and art educator, and full-time artist and retired graphic designer.

All give of their time and talents to keep Arts Wayland a vibrant part of the Wayland and Metrowest community.


Arts Wayland formed itself as a non-profit educational organization in 1980 and applied for the use of the Loker School building.  Wayland Town Meeting voted in favor of Arts Wayland renting about 75% of the entire space.

Arts Wayland used two of the classrooms for its teaching programs, the library became the gallery, the auditorium was “common space” but mainly used for drama, poetry, slideshows, musical events, etc.  All of the rest of the building became artist studios (44 Tenants) and the kitchen became pottery studios.

Due to the increase in school population, Arts Wayland had to give up the space. Arts Wayland donated the lighting equipment to the Wayland Library and agreed to help run the Raytheon Room shows.  

Arts Wayland thanks all the board members, treasurers and presidents that over the years established and maintain Arts Wayland and its role in the our community.

Following are the previous presidents of Arts Wayland who have contributed so much to the organization: Mimi Rogers, Marvin Feit,  Jo Wilson, Charles Shane, John Seiler,  Allen Barker, George Brawerman, Nasser K. and Lisa Puckett.

The Studio

We welcome art groups to contact us about using the studio for activities.

Learn more here >

Past Activities and Events

Arts Wayland has brought art and creativity into the community in many ways over the years. From the community wide Art Fair in 2015 to the Art in Rotation program, exhibits and programs at the Trinitarian Cong. Church, Wayland Library, Traditions of Wayland, Carriage House of Wayland, the many volunteers and art lovers have used their time and creativity to enrich our community.

View past events

 Gamblin Paint materials demo by Kristina Carroll

Gamblin Paint materials demo by Kristina Carroll